A gaspesian success

… with international outreach

Over the last 10 years, Fabrication Delta has grown dramatically. Competitive on the world stage, it gives us great pride to deliver throughout the world and to be an economic, job-creating force in our region, the Gaspé Peninsula.

Our entreprise

Mission: Manufacture wind turbine towers and innovative heavy steel structures of the highest quality and in all sizes, notably for the wind energy, mining, pulp and paper, and construction sectors, optimise existing structures, and deliver throughout the world thanks to our strategic location.

Vision: Diversify our activities by manufacturing wind turbine towers and heavy steel structures that represent manufacturing challenges and become an essential player in this field on the world stage.

Our team

At Fabrication Delta, innovation is propelled by the expertise and ingenuity of the team. Visionaries, the firm’s managers are very ambitious. They know how to meet the formidable challenges manufacturing represents, supported by a team of professionals who take to heart the success of their clients’ projects.

Every employee takes care to accomplish quality work that meets established manufacturing standards. In addition, with an eye to on-going improvement, they each undergo professional development training to remain abreast of the best manufacturing techniques and the latest quality standards.

François Arsenault

President

Élie Arsenault

General Manager

Danny Whittom

Production Manager

Maxime Arsenault

Quality Assurance Manager

François Lamarche, ing.

Production Manager (FabDelta)

Marijo Arsenault

Administrative Assistant (FabDelta)

Allen Willett

Procurement Manager

Gilles Arsenault

Technical Manager – Drawings and Specifications

Ghislain Barriault

Technical Manager – Tooling and Manufacturing

Benoît Maheu, ing.

Manager – Maintenance and Continuous Improvement

Daniel Langlois

CPA, CMA, Administrative Manager

Marc Dimock

Sales Representative

Our history

Founded in 1986 in an old forge building in Saint-Siméon (Gaspé Peninsula, Québec, Canada) by François and Alain Arsenault, Fabrication Delta first focussed on repairing farm, sawmill and logging equipment. In 1987, Jules and Gilles Arsenault became minority shareholders in the enterprise, as did Ghislain Barriault in 1988. In 1989, Fabrication Delta moved to a location near Highway 132 and Shop 1 (about 30 m X 15 m) was built.

READ FULL HISTORY

Beginning in the 1990s, Fabrication Delta repaired, designed and manufactured parts and systems for three major plants in the region: Gaspésia in Chandler, Mines Noranda in Murdochville and Smurfit-Stone in New Richmond. During this period, the company expanded its facilities, adding new shops, administrative offices and a warehouse for parts and tools. It also acquired specialised equipment (boring machine, CNC cutting table, DAVI plate roll. etc.).

Wind energy: Driving major expansion

In the early 2000s, the ACCORD project, a regional economic development policy introduced by the government, designated the wind energy system as a niche of excellence for the Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine administrative region and the MRC de Matane. In the wake of the closure of the three major plants mentioned above between 1999 and 2005, Fabrication Delta turned to the wind energy field where it positioned itself as a leader. Moreover, one of its founders, François Arsenault, shared his expertise with the government of Québec in 2000-2002 when Hydro-Québec was preparing its first request for proposals for wind energy production, which incorporated regional content criteria.

The leading manufacturer of wind turbine towers in Québec, Fabrication Delta has erected towers throughout the North American continent from 2002 to today. In 2008, the Gaspesian enterprise even became the first in America to manufacture towers up to 100 m in height for horizontal-axis wind turbines.

International expansion

Since 2004, Fabrication Delta has grown exponentially, doubling its sales from year to year. In 2009, after expanding its Saint-Siméon plant six times, the enterprise leased the former Smurfit-Stone paperboard plant in New Richmond to fulfil a major contract with Enercon. The railroad, which travels directly through the plant, opens the door to the entire continent while the wharf, adjacent to the company’s premises, offers the opportunity to export around the world from Chaleur Bay on the Atlantic Ocean. The proximity of this major maritime shipping route also makes it possible to import specialised parts, from Europe for example.

Think big and wide

Banking on the vast size of the plant it occupies and on its strategic geographic location, an advantage for imports and exports both, Fabrication Delta acquired the former paperboard plant building in 2013 and chose to concentrate its activities in New Richmond. Continuing its growth, Fabrication Delta acquired new equipment in 2014 to increase its production capability. These notably include the addition of a second sandblasting room and a second paint shop. The plant also underwent some general upgrading work.

Fabrication Delta’s projects for the future include capitalising on its location near a major marine shipping route to manufacture oversized wind turbine structures – which cannot be shipped by land – for offshore installation; these offshore wind farms will provide power to large coastal cities.

Un succès gaspésien

Au rayonnement international

Au cours des 10 dernières années, Fabrication Delta a connu une croissante fulgurante. Concurrentiels à l’échelle internationale, nous sommes fiers de livrer partout dans le monde et de constituer une force économique créatrice d’emplois dans notre région : la Gaspésie.

Notre entreprise

Mission : Fabriquer des tours d’éoliennes et des structures lourdes d’acier de haute qualité, innovantes et de toute envergure dans les secteurs éolien, minier, des pâtes et papiers, de la construction, etc., optimiser des structures existantes et livrer partout dans le monde à partir de notre localisation stratégique.

Vision : Diversifier nos activités en fabriquant des tours d’éoliennes et des structures lourdes d’acier représentant des défis de fabrication et devenir un incontournable au niveau mondial dans ce domaine.

Notre équipe

Chez Fabrication Delta, l’innovation est propulséee par l’expertise et l’ingéniosité de l’équipe. Visionnaires, les dirigeants de l’entreprise ont beaucoup d’amibition. Ils savent relever de grands défis de fabrication, soutenus par une équipe de professionnels ayant à cœur le succès des projets de la clientèle.

Chaque employé de l’entreprise est soucieux d’accomplir un travail de qualité, répondant aux normes de fabrication établies. Aussi, dans une perspective d’amélioration continue, chacun reçoit de la formation afin de demeurer au fait des meilleures techniques de fabrication et des plus récentes normes de qualité en vigueur.

François Arsenault

Président

Élie Arsenault

Directeur général

Danny Whittom

Directeur de la production

Maxime Arsenault

Directeur de l’assurance qualité

François Lamarche, ing.

Directeur de la production (FabDelta)

Julien Saint-Louis

Directeur de l’assurance qualité (FabDelta)

Marijo Arsenault

Adjointe administrative (FabDelta)

Allen Willett

Directeur de l’approvisionnement

Gilles Arsenault

Directeur des services techniques – plans et devis

Ghislain Barriault

Directeur des services techniques – outillage et fabrication

Benoît Maheu, ing.

Directeur de la maintenance et de l’amélioration continue

Daniel Langlois

CPA, CMA, directeur administratif

Marc Dimock

Représentant des ventes

Notre histoire

Fondée en 1986 dans une ancienne forge de Saint-Siméon (Gaspésie, Québec, Canada) par François et Alain Arsenault, Fabrication Delta effectue d’abord de la réparation d’équipement agricole, de sciage et de foresterie. En 1987, Jules et Gilles Arsenault deviennent des actionnaires minoritaires de l’entreprise, et il en va de même pour Ghislain Barriault en 1988. En 1989, Fabrication Delta déménage près de la route 132 et l’atelier numéro 1 (environ 30 m x 15 m) est construit.

LIRE L’HISTORIQUE COMPLET

À compter des années 1990, l’entreprise Fabrication Delta fait la réparation, la conception et la fabrication de pièces et de systèmes pour trois grandes usines de la région : Gaspésia à Chandler, Mines Noranda à Murdochville et Smurfit-Stone à New Richmond. Pendant cette période, l’entreprise agrandit ses installations avec l’ajout de nouveaux ateliers, de bureaux d’administration ainsi que d’un magasin de pièces et d’outillage. Elle acquiert aussi des équipements spécialisés (aléseuse, table de coupe CNC, rouleau à plaque DAVI, etc.).

L’éolien : moteur d’une importante croissance

Au début des années 2000, le Projet ACCORD, une stratégie gouvernementale de développement économique régional, désigne la filière éolienne comme un créneau d’excellence pour la région de la Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine et la MRC de Matane. Dans la foulée de la fermeture des trois grandes usines gaspésiennes mentionnées précédemment, entre 1999 et 2005, Fabrication Delta se tourne vers l’éolien, où elle se positionne en tant que leader. L’un de ses fondateurs, François Arsenault, partage d’ailleurs son expertise avec le gouvernement du Québec en 2000-2002 alors qu’Hydro-Québec préparait son premier appel d’offres pour la production d’énergie éolienne, auquel des critères de contenu régional sont intégrés.

Première fabricante de tours d’éoliennes au Québec, Fabrication Delta a installé des tours un peu partout sur le contient nord-américain de 2002 à aujourd’hui. L’entreprise gaspésienne est même la première en Amérique à fabriquer, en 2008, des tours d’éoliennes à axe horizontal atteignant 100 m de hauteur.

Essor à l’international

Depuis 2004, Fabrication Delta connaît une croissante fulgurante, doublant son chiffre d’affaires d’une année à l’autre. En 2009, après six agrandissements de son usine de Saint-Siméon, l’entreprise loue la défunte cartonnerie Smurfit-Stone de New Richmond pour réaliser un important contrat avec Enercon. Le rail, qui passe directement dans l’usine, lui donne accès à tout le continent, alors que le quai, adjacent à son terrain, offre des possibilités d’exportation partout dans le monde depuis la baie des Chaleurs, dans l’Atlantique. La proximité de ce grand axe maritime permet aussi l’importation de pièces spécialisées (ex. : de l’Europe).

Voir grand et loin

Tablant sur la très grande dimension de l’usine qu’elle occupe et sur sa position géographique stratégique tant pour l’import que l’export, Fabrication Delta acquiert le bâtiment de l’ancienne cartonnerie en 2013 et choisit de concentrer toutes ses activités à New Richmond. Poursuivant son essor, l’entreprise se dote, en 2014, de nouveaux équipements lui permettant une plus grande capacité de production (ex. : ajout d’une deuxième salle de sablage au jet et d’une deuxième salle de peinture). Des travaux d’amélioration générale de son usine sont aussi effectués.

L’entreprise, qui exporte partout dans le monde, comptait 137 employés en 2014, et ce nombre risque fort de grimper à 200 d’ici deux ans grâce à une diversification de ses activités. Fabrication Delta vise entre autres, grâce à son positionnement à proximité d’un grand axe maritime, développer la fabrication de structures éoliennes surdimensionnées — ne pouvant être acheminées par voie terrestre — pour installation en mer (offshore) afin d’approvisionner les grandes villes côtières en énergie.